Local News

Campfire restrictions on DNR campgrounds in Okanogan County

Sep 02, 2011

Starting September 2, 2011, at 12:01 a.m, the State Department of Natural Resources will prohibit campfires in all DNR-managed campgrounds in Okanogan County:

Leader Lake
Sportsman Campground at Sweat Creek
Rock Creek Shelter
Rock Lake - Okanogan County
Palmer Lake
Chopaka Lake
North Fork Nine Mile
Toats Coulee
Toats Junction
Cold Springs

Motorists should also exercise caution when driving on forest roads by avoiding dry grass and vegetation; hot exhaust systems can easily ignite dry grasses. Recreationists are encouraged to have a shovel, water, and a fire extinguisher available.

Top of page
© 2018 Okanogan Country Radio. All rights reserved.