Local News

Uncooperative conditions call for burn bans in 9 EW counties

Dec 23, 2013

Unpromising weather forecasts are prompting the Washington Department of Ecology to call Stage 1 burn bans for Kittitas, Chelan, Douglas, Okanogan, Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Asotin and Walla Walla counties beginning at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, December 24.

Dispersion is expected to worsen over Christmas and lead to poor air quality later in the week. The bans will continue at least until 4 p.m. Friday, December 27.

All outdoor burning – including residential, agricultural and forest burning – is prohibited.

Under a Stage 1 ban the use of uncertified wood-burning devices – including fireplaces, wood stoves and inserts – is prohibited unless they are a home’s only adequate source of heat.

For burn ban updates, check online at WABURNBANS-DOT-NET.

Certified wood-burning devices and pellet stoves are allowed. Ecology recommends burning hot fires using only clean, dry wood. 

Top of page
© 2018 Okanogan Country Radio. All rights reserved.